TODAY, 20TH JULY, IS INT’L MOON DAY

On July 20, 1969, humanity walked on the Moon for the very first time.

NASA Astronauts Neil Armstrong and Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin touched down in the Sea of Tranquility at 4:18 p.m. EDT (20:18 UTC). Along with Michael Collins, who piloted NASA’s Columbia module around the Moon, Armstrong and Aldrin were the crew of Apollo 11, the first of six Apollo missions to land on the lunar surface.

Fifty-three years later, July 20 is known as “International Moon Day”, and NASA’s Artemis missions are preparing to return to the Moon for long-term lunar exploration—while expanding US presence in low-Earth orbit and getting themselves ready for future missions to Mars.

💻 Learn more about the Apollo 11 mission: https://nasa.gov/apollo11

🚀 Follow Apollo 11 mission updates as they happened in “real time” 53 years ago: https://apolloinrealtime.org/11/

📺 Join the broadcast of the original footage of the Apollo 11 moonwalk, which started at 5 p.m EDT (21:00 UTC) on July 20: https://nasa.gov/live

Courtesy: NASA TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.